This Schnitzel is somebody’s “Liebster” – of course that deserves an award

Let’s face it: People who blog typically want their “literary” output to be read. And to be appreciated. Commented on. And re-blogged. Or posted on social media platforms. Shared in many ways. Sometimes even… wait for it! drum roll!… yes: Awarded!

liebsterawardWell, to my surprise (*humble brag*) exactly that happened. Jennifer Ebermann who blogs over at Mindful Leadership & Intercultural Communication was so kind to nominate Southeast Schnitzel for the “Liebster Award.” If you don’t know what that is you are just as smart as I am. Like Jenny, I had no clue what this actually meant or was.

Here is what Uncle Google told me: The “Liebster Award” is an award for upcoming bloggers with less than 200 followers and for who someone believes deserve some recognition for their blogging. So, that’s this…
Of course, I am tickled pink that Jenny thinks the Schnitzel is worthy. My big hope is that there are a handful more people who think like Jenny and who continue reading despite all this self-praise.

How do bloggers qualify for the “Liebster Award”? Here are the criteria I found:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the questions that the nominator set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve nominated to answer.
  3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
  4. Go to their page and tell them.

Okay then, 11 things about me:

  1. I am a husband who gets crazier about his wife the longer he is married. If you see/know her you’ll understand.
  2. I am a father of two incredible girls who keep me grounded. They also have me increasingly worried the older and smarter and prettier they get. If you see/know them you’ll understand.
  3. I am German by birth, a Bavarian at heart (forever!), and a Tennessean by choice.
  4. I like to travel and I prefer to do it on my terms. Ask me how.
  5. I own a business and I make sure it’s not the other way around. And I do enjoy my work.
  6. I am a fan of FC Bayern München. This means that, no matter how long I’ll live in the United States, the term “football” will always refer to a sport which includes a ball and 22 people who move said ball around on a field with their feet (as opposed to carrying/throwing an egg-shaped pig skin).
  7. I read a lot.
  8. I am an information junkie.
  9. I used to bartend and DJ. Sometimes I miss those days. Only sometimes.
  10. I am an Epicurean. But probably not in the ancient traditional way.
  11. I can be a royal G’schaftlhuber. And I’m not necessarily proud of it. (Yes, that’s a word. Look it up.)

These are Jennifer’s questions and my attempt at somewhat intelligent answers:

Who inspires you the most?
Depends on my mood. Can be music. A book or an article. Images. A powerful speaker.

In which country would you want to live in the future and why?
Avoiding a clear answer again: Italy, Germany, and the U.S. are on the list – mainly because I have experienced these countries and I enjoy being there. Then there are countries like Thailand, Indonesia, Sweden, New Zealand, or Australia all of which I imagine to be fabulous. The jury is still out…

What was the most inspiring experience in your life so far?
The births of my two daughters.

Your favorite post on another person’s blog?
You’re asking me to single out somebody? Urgh… How about this one: “Kurzkomprimierte Absurditäten III – Genitalturnen für Vollpfosten” or that one: “How to be German in 20 easy steps” ?

What does “intercultural leadership” mean for you?
The ability to manage your ego and your own cultural wiring in order to bring out the best in the people you work with, regardless of their cultural background.

If you had one wish to make, what would that be?
Free education for every child/young adult, K-12 and college. Because education is the single most powerful tool to change the world. A man can have a dream, right?

Your favorite book and why?
As if there was only one! These are some of my favorites (in no particular order):

  • Charles C. Mann: “1491” – because it provides us with an updated view on what the Americas looked like before the Columbian “discovery”
  • Jason Fried & David Heinemeier Hansson: “ReWork” – because it is a good starter kit for unlearning stupid business habits
  • Malcolm Gladwell: “Outliers” – because it takes 10,000 hours.
  • Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner: “Freakonomics” – because social phenomena usually have an economic explanation
  • Roger Boyes: “A Year in the Scheisse: Getting to Know the Germans” – doesn’t the title say it all?
  • Geert Hofstede, Gert Jan Hofstede, Michael Minkov: “Cultures and Organizations” – because Hofstede is the “guru” who started it all
  • John Otto Magee: “Verstehen sich Deutsche und Amerikaner?” – because that is an essential question throughout my work
  • Andy Molinsky: “Global Dexterity” – brand new. still reading it…

Are you a morning or an evening person?
Evening. But my life says morning.

Your favorite blog?
There is a new favorite every week.

What is your favourite ‘passe-temps’ (hobby)?
Aren’t hobbies for people with too much time on their hands? I like to fill my spare time with family activities or reading.

Here are the 11 questions for my “Liebster” nominees:

  1. What is your home (native) culture? Please be as elaborate as necessary and as brief as possible.
  2. Name five of your favorite stereotypes about your home culture.
  3. In your home culture, what do you believe is the most difficult thing/aspect/feature to get used to?
  4. Think of other cultures you have lived and/or worked in: Which one was the hardest to get acclimated with and why?
  5. Please describe the most embarrassing cultural faux pas you or somebody you know ever committed.
  6. What do you consider the most critical skill(s) to have as an expatriate?
  7. What is your favorite advice for expats?
  8. What do you recommend to people who are leading across cultures?
  9. What is the best advice you ever got?
  10. What are your favorite travel destinations?
  11. Why do you blog? Yes, I know, because of xyz123blahblahabc… of course. But really: Why are you blogging?

Finally, these are the blogs I nominate:

Have fun reading them.

Now get to work, people.

3 thoughts on “This Schnitzel is somebody’s “Liebster” – of course that deserves an award

  1. Great read. I’m intrigued by your work on leadership from a cross-cultural perspective. Especially “ego management”– Good stuff!

Leave a comment