“Interculturally competent” – over-used and ill-understood (or What is..?)

Excellent post by Anne Niesen.
Experience ≠ Competence

New Perspectives!

I keep seeing job openings looking for “interculturally competent” people. Talent Managers tell me “intercultural competence” is what they are looking for. When I ask, who they would consider to be interculturally competent, what they are actually looking for, they usually provide answers in the range of “widely travelled”, “led project with China that went well”. This is in the same range as calling somebody who cooks daily for himself a competent, professional cook.
He might well be, but how many people do you know, where that is the case? Talking of myself, I definitely will never even get close to real competence in the area of cooking – I am not trying either as it does not give me much pleasure and I am getting by fine with my very average skills. (well, I know this example is not 100% logically adequate, but I hope, I get my point…

View original post 466 more words

One thought on ““Interculturally competent” – over-used and ill-understood (or What is..?)

Leave a Reply

